wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Sweets

4 Comments

Sweets – pattern in Ravelry store

I´m celebrating my first blog post by showing you my first knitting design published on Ravelry. I´ve been thinking of this for months, and being a keen reader of some great knitting (and other) blogs I´m inspired every day. Sharing your crafts and ideas with me makes me more creative and more enlightened, and I hope I can inspire some of you in return.

This design is inspired by a bowl of sweets, bought at the local store a saturday, brought home, danced around for a couple of hours and, finally, -placed on the table to be enjoyed around a board game.

To be honest I don´t get that excited in a sweet shop anymore. But give me a yarn store, or a fabric store for that matter, and I go bananas! It´s the colors, the texture and all the possibilities!

Though I usually never use cotton for knitting, I got the feeling of being “a kid in a sweet shop” when I caught sight of the colors of the cotton used in this design. I just had to buy some, and ran home to start knitting.

This is an easy and quick knit with some interesting details like longer in the back, and a small pocket in contrasting color. It´s worked in the round, seamless, with raglan sleeves and a positive ease. The pattern includes 4 different sizes: XS, S, M and L. The pictures shows “Sweet” in sizes extra small and small.

This pattern also includes a Norwegian version.


Link to Sweets in my Ravelry store: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sweets-2

As I mentioned above, cotton isn´t my fibre of choice. 99% of my stash is wool yarn, and my next design is a merino wool pullover. The yarn is fantastic, and the pattern will be for free.

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

4 thoughts on “Sweets

  1. Such a cute design! I love its simplicity (great for the kids) and the little contrast colour pocket is such a sweet detail. Sweet indeed!

  2. Well done Cecilie, we like your designs. Kjersti Peter.

  3. Thank you so much Kjersti Peter!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

