wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Make, do and mend

1 Comment

I was looking for my darning mushroom, and found it…… inside of this sock! Another mission incompleted and note to self: don´t use Alpaca yarn to knit socks!

The reason for my search was a mending project that needs to be done before winter. My favorite «Selbu» mittens. Knitted by me, for me, in 2002. The yarn is Rauma Finull, a fingering weight wool yarn, from Norwegian sheep.

http://www.raumaull.no/index.php?mid=3&uid=7&option=include&id=produkt_oversikt&hkat=1&ukat=1

These mittens have handled years of cross-country skiing, alpine skiing, cykling in the rain, hiking in the mountains, trips to the pub, and years of holding hands with my daughter. You just can´t throw away a pair like that. So, some mending has to be done!

And while I was at it I found this, -a mini darning mushroom. So cute!

I have my own treasure chest filled with some quite unnecessary sewing objects, -and also a lot of very necessary sewing objects. Most of the first category comes from knowing nice old ladies, who just loves the fact that you are both sewing and knitting. They  open their sewing- or knitting cabinets, and starts throwing stuff at you, like; ribbon, silk thread, 50´s bra straps, 30´s armpit cushions, mini darning mushrooms and: “do take the Singer, will you?!” Could come in handy, and can not be thrown away! I´m planning to be an old lady like that myself, so you better start queuing up for those armpit cushions and even more yellow ribbon.

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

One thought on “Make, do and mend

  1. Pingback: Selbu Mittens « wool&gathering

Leave a Reply

