wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Chic Chevron [for Chic Chicks…]

Leave a comment

Oversized beanie in a two-color stranded chevron pattern and contrast edging.

One of the great joys that comes with a new season, -at least if you live in a place with seasons, is checking out the latest trends. What´s hot and what´s not! Now, I´m not a «fashionista», far from it, but I´m guilty of keeping a half-closed eye on the trends. This fall I´m quite pleased to notice that last years «parka-trend» is still very much alive. Being the happy owner of a parka (read; oh, how I wish I was able to just run to town to buy a new one…..),  I´m all set for winter, come rain (most likely) or snow (least likely). So, being a grown-up I just have to acknowledge the fact that this year is all about ……eh, well….not me.

This year´s about the 12-year old! And I have to admit that the last few weeks has been a treat. Just leaning back a bit, and listening in to the pleading, the arguments, -pro´s and con´s, and finally agreeing on a jacket she would actually be wearing, -and mum would actually be willing to pay for. Clue; sensible and fashionable!

Fortunately she´s the daughter of a knitter, and accessorizing is never a problem. At least not in my mind. I knit – she wears….. or I presume she´s going to wear. Problem is that there´s not always a direct link between mum´s taste and the dear one´s liking….believe it or not!!

Six months ago, I went a bit overboard accessorizing. She got a new «gore-tex» all-weather-jacket, -a very essential garment in this part of the world, and I knit her «the-most-fantastic» hat to go with it. I went with the colors from the jacket, picked out some wonderful merino yarn (itch-free), and constructed a «hot» chevron pattern hat. She got both the jacket and the hat as a birthday present: «here you go my dear»!

……..to her defense, she argued (accompanied by some serious eye-rolling): «…you don´t have to wear a hat in spring-time Mum!» …and she´s absolutely right, of course!

Unconsiously I had entered the «mother vs. pre-teen» trap, and this season we´re interacting! I´m stubborn and refused to abort my design-idea, and invited the girl in question along with the BF (read; the Best-Friend) to develop the design, and let them choose their own colors to go with the new jackets they´re the proud owners of. They chose alpaca, -and they chose, in my opinion, surprisingly mature colors.

 So we proudly present: Chic Chevron [for Chic Chicks…] ( available in Ravelry Store now )

The Marine/Turqoise: Garnstudio; Drops Alpaca: 50 g / 167 m.(183 yards), needles 2,5 – 3,5 mm (US 2-3), Gauge: 23 st(s) x 30 r= 10 cm

Color 1: light grey 0501, small amount

Color 2: marine / turquoise 6834 -mix, < 50 g

Color 3: turquoise 2919, < 50 g

Circumference unstretched: 53 cm / length: 28 cm

The White/Black: Du Store Alpakka; Thin Alpaca: 50 g/ 167 m (183 yards), needles 2,5 -3 (US 1 -3), Gauge: 27 m = 10 cm

Color 1: yellow 157; small amount (alt. Drops Alpaca: yellow 2923)

Color 2: sand – mix 142, < 50 g (alt. Drops Alpaca: 9020 -mix, light pearl grey, or; 100 natural, or; 2020 -mix, light camel)

Color 3: black 109, < 50 g (alt. Drops Alpaca: black 8903)

Circumference unstretched: 52 cm / length: 26

The original: Blue/Red: Pickles; Abuelita merino 3 ply; 100 g skeins / 384 m (420 yards),needles 2 – 3,5 mm. (US 1-3), Gauge: 27 – 32 st(s) = 10 cm /  6,75 – 8 stitches = 1 inch

Color 1: raw white, small amount

Color 2: cornflower, < 50 g

Color 3: red currant, < 50 g

Circumference unstretched: 52 cm / length: 26 cm

«Garnstudio´s Drops Alpaca» and «Du Store Alpakka´s Thin Alpaca», are both Norwegian brand Alpaca Yarns. Drops Alpaca is classified as a light sport weight yarn, while Du Store Alpakka; Thin Alpaca is a fingering weight yarn (as is the Pickles; Merino 3 ply). As a result of this, the Marine/Turqoise hat is both just a bit wider and longer than the White/Black hat and the Blue/Red hat.

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

