wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Green……

1 Comment

I don´t like green. I don´t wear it, I don´t dress my home in it, and I certainly wouldn´t dress my daughter in it! I have tried though. I have bought green, got dressed in it and looked myself in the mirror; -and I just look dead! I know I´m not alone in having unexplainable antipathies towards certain colors, -and if I´m going to try to explain my aversion towards green, apart from looking dead in it of course, this might be a clue; my childhood bedroom:

Here in happy «past bedtime» activities ( just 10 minutes more….please?) together with my cousin.

Now, some of you might argue, -quite accurately of course, that if I had had an aversion towards the color red, -or dots………, I would have been excused. But no, it´s the color of the carpet I remember. It was green and yellow speckled, and all synthetic. If you dragged your feet along the carpet and then touched the light-switch, -it went «fzzzzz», accompanied by som quite bright sparkles! Like your own private firework every night!

I´m a «floor-worker». I sort my yarn-stash on the floor, I cut sewing patterns and fabric on the floor, and I occasionally just lay on the floor reading or resting. Children especially, are all «floor-workers», but I remember always trying to avoid playing on that carpet.

A while ago, my daughter asked me if I would knit her a sweater, …a green one. I dived into my stash, and of course my stash contains greens, -I´ve never used it! I´ve got greens from the 60´s and 70´s (inherited from my granmother), the 80´s and the 90´s. (…I´ve tried, right!), and was able to present her with some beatiful burgundy wool that would make a great sweater. She just looked at me ……using the: «I´m a 100 years old and can see right through you» look, and I walked the «guilty as charged» walk back to my stash.

I found a bag (!) of Sandnes; Kitten: color army green (20 % Wool, 50 % Courtelle, 30 % Mohair) 50 gr = approx. 165 m. Needles: 4 mm. Gauge: 19 st(s) = 10 cm. This color is discontinued though……. being from the 90´s!

The yarn is held double, and knitted on 10 mm needles. It´s knitted in the round, top-down, in stockinette st(s) -turned inside out (aka purl stitches) and with ragland sleeves. It´s longer in the back, and I´ve added pockets, knitted in Cobalt blue fingering weight alpaca.

She´s pleased as punch, and I have to re-evaluate my aversion towards green! She looks great!! Period!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

One thought on “Green……

  1. Pingback: DIY or dye …as it happens! « wool&gathering

Leave a Reply

