wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

New Year and new possibilities…

Leave a comment

New year and new possibilities….. But also a time to sum up last years achievements. And which ever way you look at it, 2012 was not a year for physical achievements: Here is the grueling numbers:

physical activity

2012 was the year for meeting myself in the door…. Not to be recommended, yet still, interesting in its ways…. I could see it coming, but I guess you can never be ready for the impact! And since we´re in the process of summing up – what have I learned? Well, I´ve learned to keep all the good people! I´ve learned that I´m still standing! And I´ve learned that you can´t shed old scars, but you can learn to live with them….. And it´s of course a continuing process…..

But the most important thing I learned in 2012 was that when everything else (well, almost….) falls apart – I´m still a knitter! What do I do when I´m angry? – I knit! …scared? – I knit! …happy? – I knit! …sad? – I knit!

So over the summer of 2012 I decided to take knitting a step further, and allowed myself to «disappear» into the world of yarn, knitting needles, measurments, calculating and writing. I think it was Einstein who said: Creativity is 1% idea and 99% perspiration. How true! It feels exhausting being in this little room of creating, but very rewarding once you can let yourself out with a finished project or design. It´s bad for vacuuming or summit climbing, but very good for your ego!

Good thing this is a knitting blog:) …here is the more positive numbers:

Knitted this year: 27 820 meters in 42 projects

knitting status 2012

I always think I knit in a very egotistical way: me, me, me…and then maybe a gift or two….. Oh how I love statistics, because numbers don´t lie! (of course the person entering the numbers might lie….. but I swear:)….)

The majority of meters knitted in 2012 were knitted for others than myself. I´m very happy about that, but I think my goal for 2013 is to increase the yellow part of the cake to between 55- and 60%. I already know the blue piece of the chart will increase some in 2013, which means that the numbers of gifts  will shrink, a lot. Additionally, everything knitted for my daughter is summed up as gifts in the chart…. Next Christmas will not be soft gifts all over. So to all the recipiants of knitted gifts in 2012: wear with pride, -and hand wash only:)

I´m still not used to taking pictures of all my projects – a new goal for 2013. But heres some of 2012´s finished pieces:

A more negative side-effect of letting yourself slide into the «knitting-world» is the fascination for yarn -all wool yarn. There´s literally mountains of wonderful and exciting wool yarn out there! And that´s been my summit climbing this past year. I´ve stashed up! Not physically rewarding, and certainly not rewarding for the wallet! But oh so rewarding for the eyes and the imagination!

Curiosa: I´ve in 2012 earned the neat sum of nkr.: 90,- ($ 17) on my designs……

And since we´re in the process of summing up; here´s my meters of stash added to ravelry (not counting the very old stash….): 60 985 meters!!

If I can knit in approximately the same speed as in 2012, I´ll be able to use up nearly half of my stash. And yes… I´ve made a list. And yes, of course I´ll alter the list along the way:) But my main new year resolutions for 2013 is:

New year resolution #1:

NOT TO BUY A SINGLE SKEIN OF YARN! 

(gifts are of course welcome:))

New year resolution #2:

MORE PHYSICAL ACTIVITY!

I know 2013 will be a year of texture, nature, burgundy, dark blue, black, grey and greige

with a touch of bronze and a dash of bright pink/citrus.

2013 will hopefully contain a bit of blogging, a lot of knitting, designing, physical activity,  a summit or two, an archaeological excavation of something I vaguely remember as a sewing machine,…. and interaction with good (old) and new friends!

…and no new yarn! (…sobbing….)

IMG_3495

Inspiration for 2013

So, what remains in this blog post on the second day of 2013, is to thank all the good people from 2012! For all your help, inspiration, comforting, cheering- and backing up! I´ve met some fantastic new and inspirational people, and I´ve communicated with knitters from all corners of the world. But most importantly: A very special thanks to Hilde Gunn, tante Kjersti and Hege for being my rocks!, my daughter for being my everyday sunshine, and my dad for hanging in there!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

