wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Store Ringstind

6 Comments

ViewImage.aspx_mediumA few months ago I ordered 600 grams of Corriedale wool from The Wool Company in New Zealand.

I love Corriedale wool, and I´ve got some more in my stash, from Old Maiden Aunt. The Utiku from NZ is labeled as a DK weight, though I find it to be more like a worsted weight. The color is «Oatmeal», and has 190 meters to 100 grams. I´ve been searching for the right pattern for this yarn, and ended up finding it, -in my head!

I´m naming this sweater after a majestic mountain top in the Norwegian mountain range of Jotunheimen. Store Ringstind is 2124 meters high, and I´ve been there on Telemark-skis! It was fabulous!! When you see the mountains from this angle, the peaks looks like the top part of a star. You can see the pointy peak of Store Ringstind almost all the way from the starting point at Turtagrø when you do this summit. As you slowly climb the valley below, and the 1224 meters you need to climb to reach the top, the more majestic and pointy the peak looks! And yes, -I broke a sweat! I´ve actually never been more tired in my whole life…but that´s another story:)

I designed a star pattern to go with the raglan increases, and did tons of calculating to get it right. The grey is Blackhill Højlandsuld from Garnudsalg.dk, held double to match the DK.

The sweater is supposed to be an oversized raglan, longer in the back and with very long arms.

I´m looking forward to se how this yarn will feel after washing. I think it´s a bit rough, compared to other Corridale wool I´ve tried, and I hope it will feel a bit softer after washing.

So far, this sweater is turning out better than I hoped for though. I love the color, and I think the shape of the garment will be cool.
….but it´s not finished yet…..

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

6 thoughts on “Store Ringstind

  1. I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! Have a look at the details here: http://allieduthie.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/liebster-blog-award/

    • Hi allieduthie!
      Thank you so much for nominating me! I´m very happy about that!
      I´m sorry to say though, that unfortunately I have to give it a pass…. I´m just not the person to enter a challenge like that. I´m boring, I know, and I really gave this opportunity a good thinking through ….but it´s just not me:)
      I had a look at your blog, and it´s great! I´m looking forward to follow it. Keep up the good work!
      xx

  2. Both design and the yarn look very lovely! I’ll be watching for progress updates. Thanks for the heads up on the NZ yarn- ill have to check it out!

    Xx

    • Thank you!
      I´m writing down the pattern and hope to be able to publish it at one point:)
      -the yarn is worth a try….and it´s not pricy either! Currently out of stock on this particular color though…
      xx

  3. I hate merino wool. It’s a good for nothing product.

Leave a Reply

