wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

But why?

2 Comments

My resent endeavour in Selbu-knitting didn´t work out, and now this! My skiing-socks have shrunk! Some would call it bad karma …I would call it plain bad luck!

To some, this will sound like swearing in a church (so just close your eyes if you´re a bit fragile), I wash all my wool in the washing machine! If the wool can´t stand it, -well, then I don´t want it! (except angora of course, and that´s why I don´t own any angora…)

My wool is not superwash, it´s usually 100% pure wool, or wool mixed with alpaca, cashmere, mohair, camel, silk, etc. In my opinion wool comes from sheep, and other animal fibers are …well – other animal fibers. (Silk is a plant fibre.) Textile producers and me are not walking hand-in-hand on this issue, but that´s not my primary concern right now. My skiing-socks are!IMG_3740

My beautiful socks! They´ve kept me warm for miles and miles of skiing, hours and hours of mountain-cabin-after-ski-fun-around-a-board-game, and just sitting around the house in winter time.

I´ve got a fairly cheap washing machine, but it has a good wool-programme. I´ve put my skiing socks in the washing machine many times before. Closed the door and pressed the button, -in good faith.

I knitted my socks in 1997, cut the worn out feet off and knitted new ones in 2008, and they´ve never shown any signs of felting. So why did they felt this time? Did I press the wrong button? -don´t think so because the fellow garments came out all right. Did I use the wrong detergent? -don´t think so because I always use wool-detergent when washing wool. Did I fill the machine too full of wool? – well, maybe? Maybe that´s the case ….

In any case I have to knit my self a new pair. Luckily I have the pattern, and the wool is still avaliable. I´ve previously knitted 4 pairs (including my felted ones + my extra feet), so I know the pattern, and it won´t be that hard …… just booooring!! Why?!

Pattern: Raumagarn Nr. 1063, Men´s Socks

Yarn: Rauma Finull 2-ply

Needles: 2 mm and 2,5 mm.

Gauge: 29 st = 10 cm.

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

2 thoughts on “But why?

  1. Those socks are just amazing artifacts of skill, loving wear, and faith too 😉

Leave a Reply

