wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Just brilliant!

7 Comments

Easter turned out to be great! My hand is much better thank you, and due to some pretty extraordinary weather, we did a LOT of this:

and a little less of reading and chocolate eating…..

There might be a lot to be said about Norwegians in general, -but we´re exceptionally good at at least one thing; -when the weather is great (read; sunny….) we drop all other plans in an instant and spend every spare minute outdoors! Go shopping? -nope! Vacuuming? definitely not! Feed the kids? -well, we´ll stop and get something on the way….. We collectively walk around like zombies all winter, excelling in the artform of «gazing-slowly-into-one-of-the-20-lit-candles-in-the-room». Your body seems to be screaming: Give me some light and some energy NOW, please!!!

So, this Easter people have been pouring out of every house, cottage and «hole in the ground»! I did´nt even know Norway contained this many people:) And they´ve all got skiis, sunglasses and the widest grins (except, of course, the city-people! They all had spring-shoes, sunglasses and the widest grins….) Well, this is not all true. This morning, listening to the radio, us listeners were, very accurately, made aware of Norwegian geography by a very offended, but also very positively ironic lady from the Northern-Norway. Norway is a very long, but narrow country, and the weather has been crap up north! And while they have struggled with snow, wind and fatal avalanches, the media has been filled with sun, more sun and happy southern people. This lady hoped to be spared of every talk about spring-shoes and garden-design until…. well, at least July!!!

In honour of this enlightining and entertaining woman, I´ll quickly jump to my next agenda: -knitting! I still can´t knit properly, and not for long at the time, but I´ve managed to finish this:

The pattern is frk. snupp´s Angora Lue (FWSS-a shameless copy). The pattern is free, but as far as I´m aware of, only in Norwegian. But since I´m full of energy, due to the sunny Easter (sorry Northern people) I´ll translate:

Note! (27th of oct. 2013) I´m adding an edited free pdf version of the pattern here: Ms snupp´s Angora Hat (FWSS – a shameless copy)

Ms snupp´s Angora Hat (FWSS – a shameless copy) 

(I´ll explain about the copy thing later…..)

Needles: 3 mm., US 2,5 (alt. 2,5 mm, US 1,5)

Yarn: 2 skeins of Pickles Angora (can be purchased here) I used some old Spanish Angora from my stash (old because it´s from the 80´s): Gala Angora: 50% angora, 40% wool, 10% polyamide, 10g = 50 meters. My hat weighs 32 grams.

Gauge: does not say, -but mine had 22 st(s) to 10 cm.

Measurments: does not say, -but mine: circumference: 48 cm, length: 27,5 cm.

Cast on 110 st(s) on needles 3mm (or alt.; 120 st(s) on needles 2,5mm) and knit in the round in stockinette st(s) until the hat reaches the top of your head when wearing (or as long as you want it before decreasing). (mine measures 22 cm before decreasing….)

Decrease 2 st(s) evenly in the next round = total of 108 st(s). If you cast on alt. 120 st(s), you don´t have to do this decrease….

The next round: *PM, k27* (*PM, k30*), until you have placed 4 markers around the hat.

This instruction applies to every decrease for the rest of the work: *k to 3 st(s) before marker, ssk, k1, sm, k2tog*.

1.th round (of decrease): decrease as instructed by the markers

2.nd – 3.rd round: knit

4.th round: decrease by the markers

5.th – 6.th round: knit

7.nd round and onwards: decrease by the markers in the first round, knit the second round, and repeat, until you have 12 st(s) left on the needles. (Change to double pointed needles when the work becomes too narrow for circular needles.) Break yarn (not too short) and gather all the remaing st(s) on the yarn end. Pull together and weave in the ends.

Voila! One finished piece of copied hat:)

(Any incorrection in this pattern is totally on my behalf, and any questions about it will not be answered…..)

Explanation: This original hat from the norwegian brand FWSS (fall, winter, spring, summer – not very imaginative – but then again…….) turned out to be a hit amongst the «fashionistas» in Norway this season, due to certain celebrities wearing it!

I can recall knitting heaps of theese hats in the early 80´s, ….the easiest hat to knit! I´ve knitted it in baby-pink, blue, moss-green and white. But as my ever so clever grandmother put it; «-if you´ve ever been there, fashion-wise, -you don´t have to go there again!» So I won´t! As of recent, I´m a teenage-mom, and will happily donate this hat to the younger generation in fear of being left on the pavement (with the newcome teenager on the other….. accompanied by an eye-rolling: «Aaaaww gaaad!»)

But some fashions just sticks! And you suddenly find yourself in the «middle of the street – fighting for the right to wear your latest purchase – done in good faith! So please don´t tell my daughter about my new spring-shoes! ….and by all means, don´t ever tell her we all of a sudden wear the same size shoes!!! IMG_3778

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

7 thoughts on “Just brilliant!

  1. I live in Québec city, another “nordic” territory or so it should be called, and here, we often think of Scandinavians as people who love winters and are very well adapted to the cold season. We also often hear people (and journalists!) talk about how “unadapted” we, Québécois, are to our rough winters, and so I’m very happy to hear you, a Norwegian, talk truthfully about how you live your own nordic reality… ok, you were talking about the light, and I know you lack more light than we do, but I can’t help but enjoy to see everyone has to deal with there own stakes… : ) I like the hat!

    • Well, my reply to that is that I love the fact that your media seems to think we Scandinavians are better adapted to winter than the Canadians;-) …but I think we can both agree on the fact that living in a climate zone with seasons totally makes up for the lack of energy during the winter-months. Everything, -from people to the nature around us comes to life at this time of the year….it´s magic!!

      Wish I knew French by the way…. your blog looks interesting!

      • True, we’re lucky to have so many seasons, and colors surrounding us… altough I admit (many times in my blog) I am not a winter person (see?). However, I am trying very hard every year. And fortunately, it works sometimes! Thank you… I wish I could speak Norwegian too! I love languages!

  2. Merci pour la traduction.

  3. Pingback: Dinge im Oktober.

  4. Don’t worry. I did enough Chocolate Eating for everyone! Love the pink hat!

Leave a Reply

