wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

All in a day´s work…

6 Comments

Check! Finished!

A twelve hour knitting-marathon resulted in this  beautiful and slightly quirky cardigan!

My compliments to the gifted designer Veera Välimäki for writing a pattern that kept me equally interested from the first to the last stitch. The bulkier the yarn, the harder I find it to design an interesting pattern. I think Veera´s design is very close to ingenious! Maybe I´m just high on coffee and low on food right now, but still …very clever indeed!

I cast on Sunday morning around 11 am, and bind off the last stitch at five minutes past 11 pm. I survived on a bucket of coffee, peanuts and dried mangoes. Season one of «The Borgias» kept me company and the fact that the rain has been pouring all day gave me no guilty conscience for spending the whole day knitting.

This has been a great Sunday, but I will not make a habbit of spending every Sunday like this though…

Pattern: «Modern Garden Cardigan» by Veera Välimäki

Yarn: (one thread of each, held together)

Viking of Norway Eco Alpaca, 100% alpaca, col. 413 light grey, 300 g.

Drops Lace Alpaca, 70% Alpaca 30% Silk, col 0501 light grey, 50 g.

DesignClub.Dk Duo, 100% lambswool, col 502, 70 g.

Needles: 80 cm circular and dpn´s size 10 mm (US #15)

A few mods: I initially cast on size L, but ripped it, and decided on size M. My self composed bulky yarn turned out to be quite stretchy, mostly because of the alpaca I think.

I knit the arms in the size L, adviced by several ravelers.

I moved the buttonholes one stitch further in (after the 3rd stitch instead of after the 2nd stitch).

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

6 thoughts on “All in a day´s work…

  1. Wow, I am impressed! You must be so happy, and proud…. and impressed too?! It looks great! Just like Veera’s… ; )

  2. Wow, super impressive!! I hope you feel ok though- I’ve done a few marathon days like that and I often feel a bit crappy the next day 😉

    It looks lovely by the way. And a great use of the yarns.

    Xx

  3. It’s beautiful! Congrats on your new sweater! And 12 hours? You must be a speedy knitter, whew!

    • Thank you weekendknitter! Well, I´m not especially speedy, and with all those purl-rows…… But “Modern Garden” is a well written pattern that kept my interest from beginning to end:)

Leave a Reply

