wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

National Knitting Night

4 Comments

The Norwegian Broadcasting Company (NRK), has, of lately, made a quite puzzling tradition of presenting the Norwegian audience with «minute-for-minute» productions of journeys and themes. This is puzzling in a broad sense! First; -who came up with the idea? -and why did they actually put the idea into action (…thinking; not all ideas are good ideas…)? And most importantly: Why did the public absolutely love this consept?

We´ve been presented with «minute-for-minute» boat journeys. I mean; 24/7 broadcasting of boat-journey along the Norwegian coast – and the crowds along the coast went bananas! -and the viewers suddenly became fanatically interested in Norwegian geography!!? (myself included…)

And what about a 24-hours broadcasting of a train-journey (Bergensbanen), from Bergen on the West-coast, to Oslo in the East, crossing the mountains…

We´ve been glued to the TV following a boat down a water-canal, and another show: fishing for Salmon, you know; the immensly popular sport of Casting!? (being ironic here…)

NRK lost me when they presented «National Wood-burning Night», a 24-hour production of firewood….. and I thought: oh please, what´s next!? Let´s just get on with our lives….!!

555911_10151907704184695_204211806_nThat was until I heard about NRK´s next «minute-for-minute» production: National Knitting Night!

What an absolute thrill!! My secret wish has always been to replace any sort of sports from the TV-screen with knitting! I don´t hate sports, -but I don´t like it either…

A small percentage of my wish has finally come true…

So, on the night of 1st of November 2013 you´ll find me glued to the TV (lost from this world as such:)), watching «minute-for-minute» National Knitting Night.

On this occation, Norway´s longest-running TV-show (over 40 years): «Norge Rundt» (…losely translated: Around Norway…?!) have been appointed the honourable role of opening this show. A part of their focus will be on the famous (in Norwegian terms…) knitting-book «Hønsestrikk» from the 70´s, and they invite the public to show their knitting based on this book. It so happens that I have a piece of knitting based on this book! I´ve actually got more knitting based on this book, -but this piece is the most obvious one:)

I was studying Arts & Crafts in a Teachers College in ´93, and we were given the task of presenting an exhibition on the theme: «Mennestet og Maktene» (The Power of/and Mankind). My friend and I chose to explore the age of «Flower Power». My friend, being the artist, did the drawing, -and me being the crafter did the knitting and  sewing. I sewed up different variations of flares, and I knit this:IMG_4304

I opened this post by stating my puzzlement around the «minute-for-minute» NRK-productions. This garment also puzzles me! Not because of the over-obvious statements in the pattern, but in the fact that I´ve kept the garment for 20 years!  I´ve only wore this garment once, and I received this comment (not kidding…): «Oh, you´re wearing a sweater with inwards and outwards genitals …cool!!»!? I´ve moved 11 times since this was knitted!! …and 11 times I must have looked at this garment and found it worthy of an extended existence… well, the time has come: I´m sharing this garment with the public, and will send «Norge Rundt» an e-mail.

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

4 thoughts on “National Knitting Night

  1. That is so interesting! Good luck. (I also love the idea of watching a boat journey and being an outdoorsy person I could watch fishing and casting for 24 hours.) I wonder if parts of these are available on youtube?

  2. If you search on youtube using these words: nrk minutt for minutt – you can watch some of it. It´s also available on http://www.nrk.no, but only to norwegian viewers i think …but you might try though:)

  3. Reblogged this on Rød tråd and commented:
    La télé publique norvégienne NRK fait une émission marathon le 1er novembre consacrée au tricot. “Tous” les norvégiens tricotent, mais est-ce cela aura le même succès que l’émission de l’Express côtier Hurtigruten?

    The norwegian broadcast NRK have a marathon program on November 1st about knitting. Every Norwegian know how to knit, but the big question is whether the program will meet the same success as the one about the Coastal express Hurtigruten?

  4. Congrats on being featured. That is an artistic feat in a sweater, but I can see how it might be difficult to wear on a regular basis. 🙂

Leave a Reply

