wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Biggest knitting-project of 2013…

2 Comments

My, by far, biggest knitting-project of 2013 was my “Big Blanket Project”. It was not my most difficult, nor the one that demanded my fullest attention to detail, but the largest, and in the end, the heaviest…

Big Blanket Project: my ravelry project here

Pattern: My own, but inspired by Murf´s “kryss her“, and “Mitered Crosses Blanket“.

Yarn: Garnstudio Drops Nepal: 26 skeins of 0506 Charcoal and 11 skeins of 0500 light grey. 50% Alpaca / 50% Wool, Aran weight.

Needles: 5,5 mm / US 9

Technique: Domino-knitting, 20 squares sewn together. No edging.

Measurements: Every square measures 33×33 cm; charcoal: 65 gr. + light gray: 27 gr.
The finished blanket weighs 2132 grams, to be exact, and measures 165 x 132 cm.

I´m very happy with the result! My daughter immediately claimed the blanket as her own, which I´m equally happy with… This blanket is an “ocean” of stretchy knitted fabric, and if you are like me – not seated in the coach for long at the time but constantly in and out, suddenly remembering to empty the dishwasher, putting a new load into the washing machine or simply just need a glass of water…, a blanket like this takes a bit of effort to wriggle out of… IMG_4530But if you, on the other hand, are a teenager strongly influenced by American TV-series, and therefore like to stroll around the house in short pyjamas´s all year ´round and in addition are “allergic” to everything itchy, this is your perfect blanket! And if you fit the before mentioned criteria you probably don´t have the urge to empty the dishwasher anyway…

That said; my new blanket is in my view a design-jewel! Very happy with the “look”! …and one jewel wrapping another… “Too much of a good thing is wonderful!”

I´m perfectly content with my old 100% Norwegian Wool blanket, …and best of all; I don´t have to share it anymore!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

2 thoughts on “Biggest knitting-project of 2013…

  1. Det ble råfint! Gratulerer med fullført storjobb! Særlig stilig med den omvendte ruta.

Leave a Reply

