wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

2013´s Hall of Shame…

4 Comments

I find that the start of a new year makes me want to clean out, start fresh and bring in the spring flowers. It´s way too early for spring flowers, unfortunately, but I can always start by sorting my knitting UFO´s. Just to be able to look at them from a new angle and so make them “fresh” again …or else I´ll never be able to finish them, if that´s the point…

So, without further ado, heres 2013´s Hall of Shame: (poor photos by intention…)

IMG_41501. Project: Project Herring II (my own pattern)

Yarn / needles: Garnstudio Drops Alpaca / 3mm.

Purpose: a sweater, for a project at work…

Sustainability: I´ll definitely finish if we can launch the project, or else it might reappear here next year. It´s 60% finished, and too far gone to rip! Though I can´t really picture myself wearing it …not my colors… I think?

IMG_41712. Project: Through Grey Mist (my own pattern)

Yarn / needles: Noro Silk Garden with Garnstudio Drops Kid-Silk / 7mm.

Purpose: Short cardigan with pockets just showing below the hem…

Sustainability: Wonderful yarn-combination, but this project went into hibernating when I realized it´s impossible to steek a purled garment…. (or I think so…) I´ll have to cut it after sewing with the sewing-machine. And yes, -I´ll finish it!

IMG_43233. Project: no name (my own pattern)

Yarn / needles: Baa Ram Ewe´s Titus + Garnstudio Drops Alpaca / 3mm.

Purpose: I wanted to make a cardigan using my “Store Ringstind” stranded pattern…

Sustainability: already ripped due to constructional difficulties. But I´ll definitely start this project again!!

IMG_45384. Project: no name (my own pattern)

Yarn /needles: Some large amount of sport weight superwash wool yarn I´ve had in my stash for at least a decade + bling bling… / 3,5 mm.

Purpose: a cardigan

Sustainability: I´d have to loose weight to wear this, so no… which is a shame because I secretly love this bling bling!

IMG_45405. Project: no name, but it needs one… (thinking…) (my own pattern)

Yarn / needles: Rooster Delightful Lace – alpaca / 3 mm.

Purpose: a sweater

Sustainability: I have already pictured what to wear with this…. so it´s definitely a yes!! Oh, give me strength to knit a million more stitches with this heavenly lace yarn on 3 mm needles….!!!

IMG_45426. Project: “Marius” Cardigan / Pattern: Sandnes Garn

Yarn / needles: Viking Alpaca Silk / 3mm

Purpose: a cardigan in the traditional Norwegian “Marius” pattern.

Sustainability: A traditional cardigan using untraditional yarn. Meant as a “family” garment, and hopefully a family heirloom. I´ll finish it, but I´m more uncertain about the sustainability of this yarn… can´t see it lasting a generation… I might be wrong though.

IMG_45447. Project: Socks (my own pattern)

Yarn / needles: Dye For Yarn BFL sock yarn / 2,5 mm

Purpose: socks

Sustainability: I hate knitting socks! There, I´ve said it! What´s the point of all that detailed work only to having to remove your shoe and wriggle your toes in the face of someone in order for them to see it…? But I´d love for someone to knit me a pair 🙂

IMG_45458. project: no name (my own pattern)

Yarn / needles: Duo Merino lambswool, 540m/100g / 2,5 mm.

Purpose: oversized cardigan with narrow arms

Sustainability: what was I thinking? An oversized project in super-thin yarn on super-thin needles…??? Yet still, I can see this finished at one point! Not sure about the construction though, this type of cardigan might not work with this construction…?

IMG_45469. Project: modified version of “Simply a Ribbed Hat

Yarn / needles: WalkCollection Precious Worsted in “lipstick” / 3,5 mm

Purpose: a beanie

Sustainability: We all need a red beanie, right? I´ll definitely finish this! Love the yarn! …and I´ll promise not to wear this with my “lipstick” cardigan. Same company, same color but different yarn, …yet still, too much together!

IMG_455410. no name (my own pattern)

Yarn / needles: Garnudsalg.dk´s Blackhill Højlandsull / 3,5 mm.

Purpose: a fitted, longer in the back, Norwegian traditional pattern “Setesdal” sweater with kangaroo-pockets.

Sustainability: I´d love to finish this, …only, it´s a bit on the small side, and the “itchy” daughter wouldn´t even try it on if I know her right. But I´m not ripping …yet…

Puh! This helped! Very few of us can start a new year completely fresh, but it helps to see the tasks ahead with fresh eyes. I´m adding project 5 + 6 + 8 + 9 + 10 to my ravelry project page. Project 1 + 2 are already hibernating IMG_4555there… Project 7 will face “the-ripping-troll”, whilst project 4 will have to find it´s place at the bottom of a plastic box in a shelf behind the door in the house´ most untidy room …together with all the other too-good-to-be-thrown-away UFO´s (?) awaiting for a miracle like loosing weight or the energy to finish “the intarsia-project from hell”, like this 15 yr old “Foolish Virgins” project. Well, this last one just hit the trash! No, it would not make a good pillow…,  or anything. Too much history there… fresh eyes right?

Here´s to a fresh 2014!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

4 thoughts on “2013´s Hall of Shame…

  1. Quite the pile of UFO’s. I have to say though that I admire how far you got on the Foolish Virgins project. The pattern page in Ravelry says “Difficulty level is high for the intarsia work if only because of all the different yarn changes–over 40 in some rows and rarely the same colors in any two consecutive rows.” That would be enough to totally dissuade me from starting but you’ve made significant progress on it! Wow! If you forget Kaffe’s original pattern, what you have is quite interesting in itself. One option to finish it is to just stop the pattern where you’re at, repeat the zigzag portion (or not) and turn it into a pillow or a cowl. For a cowl, you could knit a plain lining to hide the yarn carries.

Leave a Reply

