wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

A new blanket, I think…

Leave a comment

…a blanket for me this time. I´m thinking garter stitch and the whole blanket in one piece in the “log-cabin” method…

Beiroa

Beiroa

I´ve got 1 kilo of this great 100% Portuguese wool, from the lovely Rosa Pomar´s store: Retrosaria

The yarn is called Beiroa, and this is how Rosa describes the yarn (from the web site):

100% portuguese wool yarn. Manufactured in Portugal for Retrosaria from the wool of Bordaleira Serra da Estrela sheep. Beiroa softens and blooms beautifully after washing.

Weight: Light aran. 
Unit weight: ±100g
Yardage: 273 yards (250 meters)
Needle size: 4 – 5mm
Fibers: 100% wool
Texture: single ply

I actually bought the undyed yarn a few years ago, and started a sweater project from the book: “Natural Knits” (Jane Ellison) / the Mirasol project. Great book with some very nice designs. But my gauge was way off, and the Beiroa has been brewing on my shelves ever since. Finally I know what to make, and that´s always a good feeling! So I had to add some more colors to my Beiroa stash, and ordered 1 skein of each of the colors: 515 yellow, 685 anthracite and 688 ocean

This will be a smaller blanket than my Big Blanket Project, and I know myself well enough not to set a finishing date!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

