wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

I landed on Landfall…

Leave a comment

BT 14  Landfall

BT 14 Landfall

I just knew I had to knit “Landfall” from Brooklyn Tweed 14.

So, I have started.

I had almost all the yarn in my stash, which is not bad considering the size of the project. I just had to order two more skeins of “Changthang” from Polo&Co. It´s listed as a sport weight yarn, though it has 400 m / 100g. I wondered about that when I ordered it, but it really behaves like a thicker yarn. It´s a 50% Yack- 50% merino yarn, and I absolutely love both the texture of the yarn and the color! It was also delivered very quickly!

The other yarn is “Blackhill Cashmere Lammeuld 17-2” yarn from Garnudsalg. It has 900 m  /100g, and is listed as cobweb weight. The color is “Rullesten”.

These two, held together creates just the right  gauge for my “Landfall” jacket. I´ve started on the back panel. The pattern is well written, the charts makes sense and I didn´t make any mistakes in the set up… I highly recommend it.

I can´t remember the last time I knit a garment flat. Must have been at least 10 yrs ago, if not more. Not my favourite, but I´ve decided to give it a go. It´s also nice to knit from an actual pattern for a change, and not always having to squeeze my brain on my own designs. But I hope you´ll cheer me on with this one, because I think it will take some time and patience to finish it!

…and yes, I have the best project-bag ever! That helps, -a bit!

 

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

