wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Some progress on Landfall…

2 Comments

I really enjoy knitting “Landfall”, though it will be a fairly slow knit! The texture and the color of the yarn(s) really works, and I can so picture myself wearing this!

The pattern is well written, and I had no problems setting it up. I was spot-on gauge with my self-composed yarn and the yak/merino/lambswool/cashmere (in that order) creates a light and soft texture with a high stitch-definition. Just the right choice for a cabled jacket!

I would, of course, have liked to knit “Landfall” in the yarn it is supposed to be knit in: Brooklyn Tweed: “Shelter”. I haven´t had the pleasure of knitting with “Shelter” yet, but I hope I will in the future. The range of colors, the “tweedy” look of it and fact that they use locally grown wool for the yarn are all agreeable with my taste in yarn. But this yarn is not sold anywhere near here, and I was lucky enough to have almost all the yarn I needed for this in my stash. The cost of my choice in yarn(s) is approx.: nkr: 720,- / $117 / GBP 71. If I were to use the original yarn I would have had to pay the double + 25% import tax! I´m a single mum on a budget, and as my ever so clever Grandmother (Gerda) used to say: “Need teaches naked woman to make her own yarn*” (*=spin her own yarn). 😀

I´m currently 20cm (7,9″) on my way on the back-panel, just under 1/3 before the arms… I need to set myself agreeable middle-goals for this one… I´m not going to blog more posts about this project before it´s finished, but if you´d like to follow the progress, you can see my ravelry  “Landfall” project-page here:

By the way, I´m knitting this on my new ChiaGoo needles (metal), a gift from my former employer AG. Thank you so much!! These needles works really well with two strands of yarn held together… They´re pointy, and helps not splitting the yarn(s).

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

2 thoughts on “Some progress on Landfall…

  1. That’s going to be so gorgeous. And warm. Does it really contain yak? I’m intrigued…

  2. Check out my last post, where I´ve linked to the Polo&Co etsy shop where the Changthang yarn is bought. It´s listed as a 50% yak + 50% merino yarn.

Leave a Reply

