wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Old Maiden Aunt “alpaca/silk”…

Leave a comment

In my “Gerda´s Cardigan” I used Old Maiden Aunt´s alpaca/silk yarn. Lilith, the dyer is based in Scotland, and I´ve got more of her wonderful hand-dyed yarn in my stash! OMA´s yarn are just the sort of yarn to get me out of my tendency to always go for the gray/natural color-scheme!!

For this particular cardigan I started out with alpaca/silk in “Bitter Bug”. I´m not particularly fond of green, and it was a big step for me to press “buy” when ordering this yarn. But this color had some mysterious glow to it, …and I was right! To see a skein of yarn through a screen is quite difficult, but you seem to develop some sort of skill over the years. And I was right …this is just the sort of green I would wear, and that´s a very competitive category!!

I´ve been wondering how to describe this color. If I were to describe it using only words it would be: translucent, changing and “alive” like a recycled wine bottle, ..and at other times like seeing a tree through a fog… In other words, this color keeps changing due to the light (well, most colors are …but this one´s special…). If you have seen the film: Pirates of the Caribbean “The Curse of the Black Pearl”, you will remember the cursed pirates´ problems with the moon-shine…!?, this color changes accordingly to the source of light! From the most vivid leaf-green with yellow undertones in bright sunlight, to the before mentioned foggy green when overcast… I´ve spent hours trying to edit this color in iphoto… here´s a few examples:

After finishing the green version of Gerda´s Cardigan I wanted a striped version, and ordered some more OMA “alpaca/silk”, this time in “Mystery” and “Pumpkin Pie”.

Mystery

Mystery

Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie

The color: “Mystery” is unfortunately discontinued, but the “Pumpkin Pie” is still available. This is the combination seen in the heading of this blog. I simply love this combination, and I want another striped one!! (my best friend – and model for the design got this one…) Here´s a few color-combinations I would consider:

or:

or:

…my piggy-bank just received a donation!:)

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

