wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Presenting “Secret of Change” III & IV…

Leave a comment

I´ve just finished knitting my favorite shawl pattern for the third and fourth time…

The pattern is: “Secret of Change” by Veera Välimäki.

Secret of Change III:

  • Yarn: 2 skeins of Pebble Silk Sock by Black Trillium Fibre Studio, in the color: Borealis + some gray alpaca/silk from Drops / Garnstudio.
  • Needles: 4mm / US 6

I actually finished knitting this shawl last July, but could not make up my mind about the gray bit. I ran out of yarn to finish the shawl, and decided to add another contrast yarn. The beautiful pink/purple yarn has lovely undertones of yellow, blue and gray, and I chose gray because it´s the most versatile of the three colors. I´ve been putting off blocking it until now, and I´m still not sure about the gray… I might just rip the gray out and keep it simple!

Secret of Change IV:

  • Yarn: Cashmere / Wool from Garnudsalg.dk, in the color Charcoal. The yarn has 1400 m / 100g, and it is held double.
  • Needles: 3,5 mm / US 4

I added 1 1/2 more repeats of eyelet section, to make the shawl big enough, and to use up all the yarn. This is my new favorite shawl! Love the color, the texture and the softness!!

I have not forgotten about my Landfall, but there are just so many other tempting knitting projects in my basket. I have promised myself to get back to it …soon! And after that I can finish my project using 100 % Norwegian wool, if I can wait that long…

Update:

I decided to rip out the gray on my Secret of Change III, and did the bind off using Holst Supersoft in col.: Goldcrest and Sweet Pea, one strand of each, held together. Satisfied! Finally:)

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

