wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Rip it or redesign it…?

3 Comments

I finished this sweater, way back, in ´93. The organic wool/silk yarn was bought in a health food store. I moved in the «middle of» knitting this sweater …that happens – depending on how long it takes to knit a boring sweater …and as we all know, that may take a few years 🙂

But I decided, at one point, to finish the sweater, and was in need of more yarn.

And here´s the story: That yarn was only sold in this store, and since this was before the internet I had to call around to find out what I already knew, this yarn was only sold in this particular store!, which was on an island on the west coast of Norway… I lived on the west-coast of Norway, but not anywhere near this store, and I knew it would take me a 5 hours boat trip, – and then a 2 hour bus trip to get to this store… In addition I had absolutely no reason to stay in this place, but could, if I used a bit of imagination, make this place / store a part of my journey to go to a destination of choice. So I made a 10 hour trip out of a regular 6 hour trip just to buy more of this yarn, …and here´s the thrilling bit: I had to persuade the bus-driver to wait for me while I ran into this particular store to «rescue» more yarn! And who do you think was «hanging» in front of the counter as I stood there, jumping and waiting to pay for my yarn before the bus left me with my luggage on board…? Yeah, you´re absoutely right: the «Oh hang on, I think I have a coin here at the bottom of my handbag, just give me a minute and to clear away all this junk…» -kind of customer! So I just threw the money on the counter and ran back to the bus, just in time to avoid the bus-driver from getting a fit…!!

So I made myself guilty of two crimes that day: one when I made the bus driver and all the other passengers wait for me, and secondly, and the most serious one;  when I made the owner of this particular store think that I stole this yarn, or at least cheated her. Because she had no way of knowing that I actually paid enough for this yarn! Which I did by the way, – I just did not have the time to wait for my change, and tried to wave the yarn in front of her to let her know how many skeins I ran out of the store with… I hope she didn´t lay awake that night feeling she had been robbed!

This sweater was in frequent use for some years, but now I think it´s time to either rip it or rescue it. I´ve got some more of this yarn, so there´s possibilities here…

Maybe I should cut it open in the front and make a shawl-collar…? Maybe I could add pockets and ribbing at the bottom of the body and the arms…? …*thinking*…IMG_4864

It´s interresting to see the difference in the yarn before- and after washing. The skein on the right in this picture has been washed, and the left one – and the yarn one on the needles – has not…

If I, on the other hand, decide to rip it I could make an entirely different garment …?

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

3 thoughts on “Rip it or redesign it…?

  1. I like your story. Maybe you can just wear the sweater with a belt?

Leave a Reply

