wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Winter ♥ II…

Leave a comment

I´ve finished my second Winter ♥. The first one I knitted for my daughter, and I just had to have one for myself. It´s the perfect slouchy, oversized, raglan, longer-in-the-back, «goes with anything» kind of sweater, and it´s an easy knit on large needles. The yarn: Drops ♥ You #3, a «thick´n thin» alpaca/wool based yarn is knit on 5 mm ( US 8) needles, and produces an interresting texture without any hazzle… Great for this kind of garment!

This will be my new favorite, – as it has been for my daughter!

I´ve got more of this yarn, and I´m thinking of a grandpa-style cardigan, following the same pattern as in the sweater. I´d have to knit it flat with a v-neck and add button-bands and pockets …I think…

I´ve got a pattern for this sweater nearly ready, and though this is a very easy knit, I wrote the pattern for an «educational» reason. I wanted to show by graph and by pictures the way to do short-rows and how to shape a neckline. This sweater is knit top-down, a great way to knit a sweater, because you can try on the garment along the way and adjust the measurements to your size.

Knitting, and in particular knitting-design, includes a ton of calculating: yardage, gauge, numbers of stitches or rows, – and how does this all go together for the different sizes…? And I have some calculating left before finishing writing this pattern.

If you´re ever in need of a engineer to calculate the next lift-off to the moon or oil-drilling project in the North-Sea, call a knitting-designer! On the top of my head; – I would recommend you to call La Maison Rililie, Veera Välimäki, Helga Isager or Lene Holme Samsøe, – or any other designer. But please, don´t call me! I´m a novise at the game, – and by the way, I´m busy 🙂

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

