wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Gerda´s IV is progressing…

Leave a comment

I love everything about this project! The colors, the smoothness of the yarn and the way it just flies off the needles. Though it´s knit on needles number 3 mm ( US 2 1/2) the gauge is 22 st(s) to 10 cm.

The body is done and the arms are on their way. I did the steeking and button-bands before I started on the arms, – I just left the cutting part… Knitting the arms produces a lot of friction to the knitted fabric, so I´m postponing the most thrilling part of the process! I did the reinforcing using Holst Supersoft in the color Topaz.

All I have to do while finishing this is deciding on buttons …and dreaming of my next project. Not that I haven´t got any waiting, but I could squeeze another project in-between… right?

Well I´m dreaming of “Laneway” by Veera Välimäki, in a pullover length, like in this ravelry project by memia. Maybe I´ll finally get to use a most treasured yarn, you know the yarn you keep brewing in the shelves awaiting the perfect project. And the longer you wait, the harder it is to start using it! Well, I´ve decided it´s overdue, and I´ll finally use my lovely Silky Merino from Walk Collection in the color Volcanic Sand. I´ve got 400 g, more than enough for this project. I want to add a few stripes, but can´t decide if I should go with baaramewe´s Titus (natural) or Drops Alpaca in gray… Something to think about while I´m  knitting!

I´ve also got 2 skeins of Suave DK, in the color Ebony, from Walk Collection, and I´m thinking of a “The Lonely Tree Shawl” by Sylvia Bo Bilvia. I´ve knit this before in Du Store Alpakka – Tynn Alpakka, my ravelry project here.

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

