wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Wrap´nWalk…

2 Comments

WalkCollection Suave DK, ebony

WalkCollection, Suave

“RittenhouseTown Wrap” by Jocelyn Tunney was recently published on Ravelry. It´s a free knitting pattern. I had in my stash WalkCollection´s Suave DK in the color “Ebony”, that I intended for another shawl. But when I found the Rittenhouse pattern I just had to try it, and it turned out wonderfully! I love it!! I´ve named it: “Wrap´n Walk”.

It´s a classic wrap/shawl that really looks like crochet…

The pattern says to use 3 skeins of a worsted weight yarn. I had only 2 skeins of a dk weight yarn. After blocking my shawl/wrap measures 72″ x 26″ (183 x 65 cm), which is amazingly close to the numbers in the pattern: 68″ x 25″. The only mods I did was to use thinner needles, 6 rows of garter st(s) instead of 8, and to cut the fringes shorter… I would prefer them longer, but was out of yarn.

The pattern is well written and the stitches easy to memorize.

I´m so happy with my Rittenhouse. The yarn is beautifully soft and luxurious, and the color is just the right shade of “faded” grayish brown. I can definitely picture myself knitting more of these shawls…

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

2 thoughts on “Wrap´nWalk…

  1. On the pattern what does LB mean? Like the whole first row with pLBo? I csnt find the answer anywhere and i really want to make this pattern

    • Hi Vanessa. If you read the Abbreviation section on page 2 of the pattern it’s explained quite good there. But if I’ll try to explain it in my words ( you’ll have to excuse my English…) LB means to lift the strand of yarn between the stitches on to your right needle. It’s like a YO (yarn over) only using the existing bar. Plbo means to lift this before mentioned lifted stitch over the last knitted stitches. If you look at the picture of the shawl, this creates the horizontal stitches. I hope this made some sense to you. Good luck knitting this beautiful shawl.
      Cecilie

Leave a Reply

