wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Sand In My Eyes…

4 Comments

I´ve just finished the BlueSand Cardigan by La Maison Rililie. It´s a great, slightly oversized cardigan with some elegant features like longer in the back, pockets integrated in the hem and i-cord finishing. I´m not the only one that finds this cardigan to be knitting-worthy… I´m currently among 160 others who have finished this pattern since it´s release in January (according to Ravelry). I´ve called my cardigan “Sand In My Eyes…“.

I´ve had som Plucky Sweater (dk weight) in my stash for some time and decided it was finally time to use it. I had 3 skeins of gray (Elegant Elephant) and 4 skeins of purple (Essie). I also needed a contrast color and decided on a skein of BFL sock from The Uncommon Thread in the color Golden Praline, held double.

I downloaded the pattern because I needed a project to get over the disappointment with my failing “Laneway”, and printed out all 16 pages of pattern instructions and started reading. My compliments to the designer for a great cardigan and a very detailed pattern instruction, but I suddenly found myself blind to all the schematics and numbers. I guess it´s what reading a text feels like for a dyslexic. It was like trying to decipher a tax-report with sand in your eyes …thus the name! I guess I was just a bit tired that day, but also I´m more of a free-knitter. I know how to shape a garment and don´t really need a detailed instruction. In addition I´m Norwegian and are brought up with one page knitting-instructions …ok, maybe two, with pictures.

All the leftover yarn...

All the leftover yarn…

But I decided to give it a go anyway, and I´ve more or less followed the numbers of stitches and the length for my size. I cast on each shoulder with magic cast-on, shaped the shoulders with some short-rows and continued with contiguous sleeves. I wanted gray to be my main color, and had to make the purple stripes longer to save gray yarn. I also decided not to follow the slip-stitch pattern for the hem and for the contrast color on the sleeves for the same purpose. I did the i-cord bind-off around the hem and the front using Plucky Feet, col: Medieval, held double. Not the same color as the Elegant Elephant, but close enough. My gauge was a bit off, and I found the Plucky Sweater yarn a bit hard on the hands. For some reason it contains 10 % nylon…

But I love the finished cardigan! I´ve worn it a lot already and I find the stunning details of this cardigan to make it both wearable and characteristic. So my compliments to La Maison Rililie for this design!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

4 thoughts on “Sand In My Eyes…

  1. Such beautiful colours, and the details are great. Very well done.

Leave a Reply

