wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Toppsamling II…

5 Comments

Toppsamling II

Toppsamling II

Vertices Unite translated into Norwegian becomes something like Toppsamling. I´ve just finished my second one, and I think I´m going to leave it with that, though I find myself dreaming of even more great Vertices Unite shawls in hundreds of different color-variations… Enough shawls for a while…

I dug into my “precious-stash” for this one, -you know, the stash you often think of using and then decide against it for no obvious reason other than that it is a bit precious… And so the years passes…

I finally got to spend some of my Mari from Telespinn, got to throw in some left-over alpaca/silk (in Bitter Bug and Moody) from Old Maiden Aunt and even squeezed in a bit of Shilasdair Luxury 4 ply in Tansy Gold / yellow. I love yellow, but it´s a difficult color to be used with care… this shawl was perfect for it.

Mari from Telespinn ( see my last post) is a wonderful rustic mohair/merino grown and spun in Telemark/Norway. It´s listed in Ravelry as a light fingering yarn, but in my opinion it´s more like a fingering/sport weight… I have to add that my Mari has been in my stash for years, and the yarn may have been changed since I purchased it…

The Vertices Unite pattern comes in two sizes: Small and Large. I´ve adapted the pattern to a Medium. See my Toppsamling II ravelry project page for the details. My shawl measures 190 x 60 cm, and weighs 248 grams.

My fog & whisper cardigan is almost finished, and I aim to finish it by this weekend, and then I can go back to my last purling project; the raglan baseball sweater…

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

5 thoughts on “Toppsamling II…

  1. I have my own precious stash too and it will go soon to make a cardigan for my little boy ! your shawl looks great btw

    • Thank you Twisted Yarn! I love colors, but I often think multi-colored projects becomes a bit dull, because all the colors keeps “fighting” for the attention… but in the Vertices Unite all the colors are sectioned, and each color can “play along” instead. So I guess I would call this design Colors Unite instead of Vertices Unite 🙂

Leave a Reply

