wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Fog&Whisper in Cozy Silk / Stone

1 Comment

My Fog&Whisper is finished (for a while now…), and I´m quite satisfied with the result! The pattern is Veera Välimäki´s Fog and Whisper. A versatile short cardigan with front panels in garter stitch. This project involves a lot of purling, apart from the front panels and the sleeves, -but still a lot of purling for my taste. But I found that purling can in fact make an otherwise quite tedious stretch of knit stitches a bit more interesting… You know that purling takes more time and therefore you settle with that, where as knit stitches in the round grows very slowly because in your mind you´re almost done… before you even start… The yarn: WalkCollection´s Cozy Silk Fingering / col. Stone was great for this project, and a delight to knit with!

I´ve done some alterations to the pattern instructions: I cast on for size 38”, and did the raglan increases only every 4th row for the last 4 increasing rows before dividing for the body/sleeves, to make the upper body a bit longer. Then I made 8 new st(s) under each arm. I knit the remaining close to size 42”
The pattern instructions says to knit in reversed stockinette, with the increases on the purl side. This to make the raglan increases less visible I think… I´m wearing this purl side out, and knit this in stockinette, and did the increases on the knit side. I made the body 5 cm shorter, and picked up 118 sts for each front band + 92 for the collar. Gauge: 24,5 st = 10 cm.

Just to settle the fact that I´ve cured myself of any purling-phobia, I´ve cast on for another sweater: V-neck Stripes. (yes I know, -it needs a new name…) It´s knit using the same method as with my Cashmere Summer TopMagic cast on on the shoulders. A few short rows to shape the shoulder part, and the fronts- and back part knitted from the shoulder stitches, and then all the stitches gathered on a circular needle for the boxy shaped body. I´ll pick up stitches around the arm holes for the sleeves. Love this soft alpaca, light fingering yarn from Malabrigo! I have to admit the fun part of the knitting is over. Only the upper-body involves purling, the rest is just plain knit stitches in the round, which in my mind is already finished …which it´s not! By far:)

To end this post; a few pictures from my trip to the wonderful world of hiking and kayaking in the heart of the Norwegian Fjords & Mountains: the county of Sogn og Fjordane on the west-coast of Norway. We had snow-storm on 1100 meters just to find 25 degrees celsius by the fjord the same afternoon… when you reach the top of the mountains it feels like you´re on the roof of the world with view of glaciers, 2000 meter tops and small villages scattered in the valleys between the steep mountain sides. Wild and fabulous!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

One thought on “Fog&Whisper in Cozy Silk / Stone

  1. Pingback: The Delightful Sognefjord – Norway | World for Travel

Leave a Reply

