wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Buttons…

1 Comment

IMG_5460My least favorite part of the knitting process is searching for the right buttons… I admit to being picky, and I quite often spend a lot of time and energy finding just the right buttons. These two projects have been finished for a time now, -just lacking the last important finish; buttons!

I bought the Butterfly-buttons for my Lipstick Cardigan a long time ago. The color is just perfect for this cardigan. I´m not really the Butterfly kind of person, but it was the best I could find. I visited some yarn shops on my resent mini-holiday, and bought a set of new buttons, but they were not really right either… So it was back to the Butterflies. They really work from a distance, but close up I just want to re-state that I´m not the Butterfly kind of person, and that these buttons are in support of the alarmingly decreasing population of certain types of Butterflies! (who´s going to pollinate our crops when there´s no bees, humble-bees or butterflies left…?)

I bought the metal-striped buttons (on the left in the picture) for my Gerda´s Cardigan IV, but found them to be a bit on the shiny side. I liked the fact that they were striped, -to go with the stripes in the cardigan, but upon searching through my extensive old stash of buttons from -not 3 decades, -but 3 centuries!! (see this post), I found these “worn-out” metal´ish buttons. They add just the right “look” to the cardigan, and they also pick up some of the blue color in the project. The fact that I could only find 6 of them when I was in need of 7, and had to complete with a different button in the same material, just adds to the “worn-out” look! Satisfied!

On my before mention mini-holiday I found this yarn: Norsk Pelsull from Hifa, one of the few yarn-producers in Norway that still uses Norwegian wool in their production. I´ve only seen this yarn online before, and finally got to see the different colors “live”. I bought 5 skeins, in the colors 1115 natural gray, 1112 coral and 1108 oker (yellow). With it I also bought these buttons. These are traditional “kofte”-buttons, used for generations. I remember having these buttons on one of my childhood´s “kofte”. I´m really looking forward to sew these buttons on a kofte made from Norsk Pelsull. The image on the button is from the famous Norwegian author Henrik Ibsen´s play “Peer Gynt” act 1, scene: “the Buckride”. The last picture shows some of the traditional buttons /buckles I found in my stash. The top ones are silver, and would traditionally be used for “Bunad“, but there´s no laws against using it for knitted pieces… if you can be bothered polishing the buttons on a regular basis:)

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

One thought on “Buttons…

  1. Sometimes I am gettin grey hair from questing for the right buttons, so I totally understand! I would like to invite you to take part in a giveaway of one of my hand dyed yarns- there is an Article about a blog award I revently received an in which I spontanously decided to become more active in my blogging- If you are interested come visiting and participating () it is bilingual and all countries are invited to take part:
    http://fadenwerkerin.wordpress.com/2014/07/27/an-award-and-a-giveaway/
    If you are not interested- sorry for bothering you but I like your work and would have really been interested in your answers. No harm intended.
    Daniela

Leave a Reply

