wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Ringstind; a study…

Leave a comment

My favorite wool is Corriedale. There´s not a lot of it around, and once I found some I had to knit a favorite sweater. So I drew up a stranded pattern to go with raglan decreases (…in this case; increases – being knitted top-down). And Store Ringstind was born!

Store Ringstind

Store Ringstind


I love this sweater, and have long wanted to develop the stranded pattern.
I´ve started playing with different types of wool, and different techniques, to see how the Ringstind pattern can be used in a design…
1. Ringstind Titus:
Ringstind Titus

Ringstind Titus


Yarn: Titus from BaaRamEwe
Color: Coal + Natural
Needles: 3,5 mm
Technique: Top-down raglan

2. Ringstind Pt5

Ringstind Pt5

Ringstind Pt5


Yarn: Pt5 Sport from Per Tryving
Color: Coal + Off-white
Needles: 3,5 mm
Technique: Top-down, short-row shaped shoulders, contiguous-method

3. Ringstind OMA Corriedale

Ringstind OMA Corriedale

Ringstind OMA Corriedale


Yarn: Corriedale from Old Maiden Aunt
Color: Greige + Famous Blue Raincoat
Needles: 3 mm
Technique: Top-down, saddle-shoulder, contiguous-method (same as my Gerda´s Cardigan)

To be continued…

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

