wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Selbu mittens III…

2 Comments

IMG_6016

Selbu Mittens – new ones right

I´ve had an ongoing quest for “my” Selbu mittens the past years. As you can see from this and this post. And finally I got around to knit me a new pair! And they work perfectly! Already tried and tested in the snow.

The photo was taken with a gopro camera by a friend “Speed-riding” (link to a speed-riding video) down the mountain side (me on the right – and if you look closely you can see my Selbu mittens).

It´s the same pattern : Woman´s Mitt by Rauma Designs – but in a 100% wool yarn this time… I´ve used Hillesvåg, Hifa 2 in Charcoal and Natural White, a high quality 100% Norwegian wool yarn, and though my Selbumittens III came out a bit on the large side, I know they will felt enough to fit perfectly in a year or two… These are definitely knit to last for the next 10 years…

I´ve also finished the two pairs of Selbu mittens from this post. They are knit in another Selbu pattern: 5. Womans Mitt, also by Rauma Designs using the same yarn as in the ones above. I´ve knit this pattern before, as you can see from this post.IMG_5786

These really started as one pair of mittens… but you know the feeling when you suddenly realize both mitts have the thumb on the left…? So I had to knit two new mitts… Enough Selbu for a while! But the recipients were happy!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

2 thoughts on “Selbu mittens III…

  1. Just gorgeous, all of them!

Leave a Reply

