wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

Fish…

Leave a comment

Where do you get the inspiration from?

I´ve often been asked that question… And the answer is; everywhere!

Sometimes it´s the skein of yarn itself that gives me a clear image of what it will look like as a sweater. It can be a color combination that begs to become a pair of mittens, or it can be a shape of a garment that I want to recreate in my knitting…

Once I saw this picture in a book. The book is “Sparat” by Celia B. Dackenberg. She is a Swedish author, known for her work related to handicrafts, and was the editor for “Hemslöjd” for many years. The book has several knitting patterns, mostly recreations of childrens-wear from the 50´s and 60´s.

I was fascinated by the picture of an American textile. It was the colors, the simplicity and the repeated pattern that made me want to try to transfer the pattern to a knitting chart.

That worked fairly well, and I knit a turtle-neck sweater. I loved the sweater, but after 10 yrs in the back of the wardrobe I had to ask myself the inevitable question; should I throw it away – or change it…

Unfortunately I forgot to take a “before” picture, but here´s what it looks like after the “makeover”. It´s already my “new” favorite cardigan! Thanks to my lovely model (and daughter). I am now the proud mother of a 15 year old…. Time flies… Happy birthday H!!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

