wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

A great Alpaca day…

3 Comments

I had the pleasure of visiting a local Alpaca Farm today: Lundegård Alpakka, in Tysvær, Norway. I was greeted by the owner Britt and a few of the “guys” in the most beautiful spring weather.

They keep their 30+ alpacas for breeding and fiber production. They got yarn spun from a few fleeces last year, and will increase the production this year. They aim to be able to produce 100 % ecological yarn, and I´m very happy to find locally spun alpaca yarn from happy animals – they even have names! Meet: Olav, Laffen, Edwin and Marius.

I got to bring home 3 skeins of the softest fingering alpaca. This natural white color is clearly a bit different from natural white sheep´s wool. It´s deeper and looks more “faded”. I think I would call this color “putty” (nor.: kitt ). I love this color! I can´t wait to start knitting, and if you hang around this blog a bit more, you´ll definitely hear more about this project!

Lundegård Alpakka

Lundegård Alpakka

Other news: The kayak-season has started. Had my second day on the fjord today. I´m thrilled!!

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

3 thoughts on “A great Alpaca day…

  1. this yarn look soft ! and I really like this putty colour ! Do you know what you are going to make with it ??

Leave a Reply

