wool&gathering

Knitting, design, wool and other gatherings….

From my treasure-chest…

Leave a comment

While searching through my substantial and treasured stash for something quite different – I found some embroidered edging for traditional Norwegian knitted sweaters / cardigans (kofter).

slide

As far as I´m aware, this kind of edging was originally used on the historic “Setesdal-kofte”. Setesdal-kofte has been worn by men since approx. 1850 – and is today a part of the male version of Setesdalsbunaden. This kind of embroidery is called “Løyesaum”, and was only used around the neck and the sleeves, because the sweater was worn inside the trousers. It was not until the 30´s they started cutting the sweater open to a cardigan / jacket.

If you want to read more about “Setesdalskofta” I can highly recommend the book Setesdal Sweaters by the renowned Annemor Sundbø.

The wool embroideries are made on thin black or dark blue wool, and the sweater / cardigan is closed by pewter hooks. The left and middle pic. are the “Setesdal” pattern (link to ravelry), and the right pic. are the “Valdres” pattern (link to ravelry).

I´ll better add a suitable “kofte” for my edgings to my already far too long list of things to knit…

Author: woolandgathering

I´m a dedicated knitter. I share my house with an unknown amount of wool. My kind of wool seems to multiply like quicksilver, -drop a skein to the floor and you get 10 in return….. (well… get is maybe an exaggeration….) So I keep on knitting to try to get on top of it, enjoying the process, the texture of the yarn and the endless possibilities in creating new garments.

Leave a Reply

